Goats-Gruff cheese cake and cranberry snow

Goat's milk makes great cheese!

Goat’s milk makes great cheese!

Why goat cheese?

Goat cheese is my go-to cheese on a daily basis. I love it because of its creamy texture and crisp, tart taste. It’s perfect in my omelets and on top of my leafy greens at lunch.

But it’s also packed with great nutrition. When it comes to fat and calories, goat cheese has the advantage over cheese made from cow’s milk.

Soft goat cheese clocks in at 80 calories and 6 grams of fat per ounce, compared to cow’s milk cheese, which generally has around 100 calories and 10 g of fat per ounce. And its shorter-chain fatty acids are easier to digest. This means goat cheese is the better choice for staying fit and healthy. Here’s just a few more reasons to choose soft goat cheese:

  • 5 grams protein in a single ounce and 4% the daily recommended value for calcium, great for strong bones and muscles.
  • 25% more riboflavin (vitamin B2) and 33% more thiamin (vitamin B1) than cow’s, essential for efficient metabolism.
  • vitamin A is 47% higher in goat’s milk, too! Great for your eyesight.
  • Goat’s milk also contains 27 percent more of the antioxidant selenium than cow’s milk.
  • Plus it’s a good source of tryptophan, an amino acid that helps us stay happy!
  • Finally, it provides probiotics to keep our gut and digestion systems healthy.

The cake

With more of the good stuff and less of the bad, goat is my first choice in cheese. That’s why I was drawn to a recipe I saw in Stefan’s Gourmet Blog for a lemony goat-cheese cake. I thought how well it would go with  cranberry troll cream, which I published earlier with a Scandinavian story about three gruff goats. I’ve renamed it here Cranberry Snow for my winter’s gourmet dinner, Frozen in Ottawa.

I also added to my dessert plate one of my Readers Earl Grey Teabag Cookies, the recipe for which I’ve also published previously. Many thanks to Stefan for his cake recipe, which I followed faithfully. The only difference was: I used a hand mixer and he used a stand mixer. I had no trouble with the low-tech option. Do check out Stefan’s version of events, which comes with a lot of good photos.

DSCN6198_edited

Goat-cheese cake with cranberry snow
Serves 6 to 8 (8-inch pan)

  • 2 tablespoons flour
  • butter for greasing the pan
  • 100 grams (1/2 cup) caster sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon lemon juice
  • 1 teaspoon lemon zest
  • 4 eggs, separated
  • 225 grams (8 oz) soft goat cheese, at room temperature
  • 1 bag fresh or frozen cranberries
  • 2 or 3 tablespoons caster sugar
  • 1  egg white
  • 8 teabag cookies
  1. Beat the egg whites with a clean balloon whisk in a clean bowl until they resemble snow.
  2. Preheat the oven to 175ºC/350ºF.
  3. Butter a 20 cm (8 inch) cake pan and coat it with sugar (take the sugar from the sugar to be used for the cake).
  4. Combine the goat cheese, lemon zest, lemon juice, vanilla extract, and sugar in the bowl of a stand mixer. Mix (with the balloon whisk or the paddle) until creamy (I used a regular hand-mixer).
  5. Add the egg yolks.
  6. Continue to mix, scraping down the sides of the bowl as needed.
  7. Add the flour.
  8. Continue to mix until the flour has been incorporated.
  9. Carefully fold in the beaten egg white in three additions with a rubber spatula, working from below. Try to keep the mixture as airy as possible.
  10. Keep folding until the egg whites have been incorporated completely.
  11. Transfer the batter to the prepared pan.
  12. Bake at 350ºF until the cake has set but still slightly jiggles in the center, about 20 minutes.
  13. Allow to cool on a wire rack.

Cranberry-cheesecake

To serve

My cake didn’t rise as much as I would have liked. And I wasn’t happy with my chocolatey cake decoration, which melted into the surface for an unpleasant-looking effect. But the plated servings with the cookie and the cranberry snow looked better (I forgot to take a picture of the cake with my cranberries turned to snow!). The lemony infusion was delicious, and the cake went well with the tart sweetness of the cranberries.

This brings me to the satisfying end of my series on our annual gourmet dinner, an event that has been running for 29 years! Where has the time gone?

Until next year, Bon appétit!

Related – Our Frozen dinner theme to date

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. antiageingscience
    May 10, 2015 @ 02:35:27

    Hello Vinny. Can you cook up a recipe loaded with high quality protein that you can do in a couple of minutes or less? It doesn’t even need to be cooked. Just protein + veggies + complex carbohydrates. And to taste good! ^_^”. Is there anything you ave at the moment? Thank you!

    Reply

    • Vinny Grette
      May 10, 2015 @ 11:02:23

      Now this is a challenge. I hate boiled anything, as many of the nutrients disappear in the steam. I like fresh veggies, but that means chopping, which takes more than a minute. Not sure what you mean by AGE’s from stir frying? I have a few ideas but will do a little more thinking :). Stay tuned…

      Reply

      • Vinny Grette
        May 12, 2015 @ 16:40:10

        Hi Antiaging – Did you stay tuned 🙂 ? I posted a recipe for easy risotto today, with a rant about what constitutes easy. I think you’ll find this recipe easy enough. I gave some tips about turning it into a one-dish meal as easily as I could think how. I do suggest you look for the right kind of rice if you want the lovely creamy texture of traditional risotto with none of the work. If you have cooked broccoli on hand (I always do because I make lots the first time I steam it up) or asparagus, or even canned artichokes, throw some in along with cooked frozen shrimp or canned crab or lobster or left-over roast chicken. Well, you get the idea. Happy dining! PS – Click on “easy recipes” in my subject index in the right menu for more ideas with only a few healthy ingredients.

        Reply

  2. A_Boleyn
    Apr 28, 2015 @ 14:33:42

    That cheesecake is pretty tall in my opinion. And looks delicious with the cranberries on top. I use them dried (in florentines and couscous, among other things) but have never cooked with them fresh.

    The first time I tasted goat cheese and milk was in gr 6 or 9 when my class went on a field trip to a farm where goats were being raised. It took me a long time to actively buy and use goat cheese again. I don’t know why cause I enjoy it very much. I’ve also never used goat cheese for cheesecake, just Philadelphia cream cheese. Like with ricotta cheese, something else I should change up occasionally.

    Reply

  3. jncthedc
    Apr 24, 2015 @ 23:36:37

    It’s a pleasure to read from your site. It blends humor, taste, health, fun and personality and forces the reader to walk away with a smile. I look forward to your new posts.

    Reply

    • Vinny Grette
      Apr 25, 2015 @ 09:34:42

      You’ve made my day, jnc! I think the biggest gift parents can give their kids is healthy eating habits. I’m hoping this site and my book can be small tools in their arsenal :).

      Reply

  4. Main St. Cuisine
    Apr 09, 2015 @ 14:13:21

    I adore goat cheese, whether it’s part of something sweet or savory. Your finished cake looks lovely!

    Reply

  5. Chase & Chance's Mom
    Apr 08, 2015 @ 13:18:34

    I love goat cheese as well especially on pasta!!

    Reply

  6. cookingwithtoddlers
    Apr 08, 2015 @ 12:24:29

    My mouth is watering just looking at that photo! How amazing!

    Reply

  7. chef mimi
    Apr 08, 2015 @ 08:56:22

    looks beautiful to me!

    Reply

  8. StefanGourmet
    Apr 07, 2015 @ 16:16:47

    The cake has a perfect texture, well done. Thanks for the shout out!

    Reply

What's cookin' with you?