Fuhrman’s 10 worst foods

Sugar makes these treats a no-no for best health

Added refined sugar makes these treats a no-no for best health

Last time, I introduced you to Dr. Joel Fuhrman and his list of 10 best foods for battling the effects of old age. Now I’m going to show you his list at the other end – Fuhrman’s 10 worst foods… foods that can lead you to an early grave. Ten Worst Foods

  • Sweetened Dairy Products (e.g. ice-cream, low-fat ice-cream, frozen yogurt)
  • Trans Fat Containing Foods (e.g. stick margarine, shortening, fast foods, commercial baked goods)
  • Donuts
  • Sausage, Hot Dogs, and Luncheon Meats
  • Smoked Meat, Barbecued Meat and Conventionally-Raised Red Meat
  • Fried Foods including Potato Chips and French Fries
  • Highly-salted Foods
  • Soda
  • Refined White Sugar
  • Refined white flour

I’ve cautioned folks about the last three on this list – see my links if you like. Sadly, my favorite food of all time, ice-cream, is on Fuhrman’s list…right at the top. He includes all sweetened dairy with that.

Home-made yogurt tops off this veggie omelet well

Home-made yogurt tops off this veggie omelet well

Thankfully, I’ve gotten into the habit of making my own home-made yogurt, which is a staple I love. So I don’t have to worry about overly sweetened yogurt brands that hog the shelf space at the grocery store. I DO have to rap my knuckles whenever I feel a craving for Italian gelato, all-cream ice-cream, and ice-cream drumsticks… which is nearly all the time! I’ve actually learned to hate all things McDonald’s, coke, and … well, those two anyway, which at one time I loved.

But not sure I’ll ever “hate” ice-cream. I can certainly make do with a whole lot less of it, though. I’m especially motivated to get back to healthier eating because since Christmas I’ve been on two long and fabulous holidays where I’ve eaten and drunk whatever I wanted, even if I felt stuffed. As you can guess, I’m paying for that with 10 extra unwanted pounds. And they won’t budge! I’ve resumed walking 5 times a week, weight training three times a week, and a 1200 calorie food intake for the past 3 weeks. Result? One measly pound gone. My daughter told me I have to be patient… something that doesn’t come easily for me. So I simply can’t give up. I’ll be paying close attention to Fuhrman’s list (which matches up nicely with Dr. Mike Morano’s 17-day diet of times past).

I hope I’ll be able to report further success sometime really soon :). In the meantime, I wish you all success in your own quest for healthy-eating options! Enjoy the rest of summer, and stay safe!

Healthy eating ... a fine balance!

Healthy eating … a fine balance!

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. chefceaser
    Sep 07, 2015 @ 07:51:48

    Reblogged this on Chef Ceaser and commented:
    Most everything on this list I love. Such is life. Live long and be happy.

    Reply

  2. chef mimi
    Aug 14, 2015 @ 10:14:39

    I am so glad i don’t eat donuts. But I do love sausages…..

    Reply

  3. suburbanbetty
    Aug 11, 2015 @ 17:29:13

    I looooove gelato! But fortunately (or unfortunately, depending on how you look at it) I have a bit of a dairy tolerance issue so I avoid milk (almond milk is my go-to) and occasionally eat ice cream (but usually pay for it in indigestion). I just discovered a chocolate cashew milk (Silk, I think) that’s fabulous and a treat at 90 cals per serving.
    Regarding the weight loss: it took 6 months to put that weight on, it’s not coming off in a few weeks:) Your daughter is right, be patient. Wow 1200 calories is very little! I’m 150 lbs and that would be low for me. Plus working out? How are you staying alive? haha!

    Reply

    • Vinny Grette
      Aug 11, 2015 @ 21:12:02

      I have a ridiculously slow metabolism. My “normal” temp is 96.8F, whereas for most people it’s 98.6F! So although I love food, if I eat a normal amount, like 2000 cals, say, I’d weigh 175 lbs. Very sad. So to lose weight, I need to eat between 900 and 1200 cals and to maintain 135 lbs, say, I can’t eat more than 1500 cals. Ice cream is lethal!!! Thanks for your words of encouragement!

      Reply

What's cookin' with you?

