Father’s Day recipe: “Not-ella”

I’ve posted my own healthy version of home-made Nutella, which has a couple more ingredients than this recipe does. I also talk more about the health aspects of our favorite spread (what else is new?). It might be worth clicking over there for a look-see while you are researching Nutella alternatives :).

I’ve tried this recipe here  with its minimal ingredients, and I confess. I like mine better (so.. what else is new?).

Let me know what version you prefer, and why? Happy snacking!

Natural Nomad

As a child I used to love the popular commercial chocolate-hazelnut spread, probably because my dad was also a big fan of it and could eat it by the spoonful. With it being Father’s Day in the UK this weekend I thought that it might be fun to create a homemade alternative – it’s safe to say that the shop-bought jars are not too healthy and laden with sugar and dairy, but this recipe is free from refined sugars and additives, and is so delicious that it will still be loved by dads everywhere!

1 cup hazelnuts

¼ cup maple syrup

¼ cup water

2 tbsp cacao powder

2 drops vanilla essence

Makes 1 small jar

Preparation time: 15 minutes

  1. Bake the hazelnuts on a baking tray at a medium heat for around 5 minutes – keep checking them as nuts are notoriously easy to burn!
  1. Once they are done…

View original post 126 more words

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. chef mimi
    Jun 22, 2015 @ 09:35:49

    Fabulous! You know, I even bought a vitamix just to make nutella and other nut butters, and I haven’t yet made it!!! You’ve inspired me… thanks!

    Reply

What's cookin' with you?

