Help, I’m Drowning in Sugar!

Artwork by Salvador Dali, Dali Museum-Theatre, Figueres, Spain

Sculpture by Salvador Dali, Dali Museum-Theatre, Figueres, Spain. Photo by me!

If, like me, you’ve found yourself drowning in a tsunami of baked goodies this holiday season, perhaps you’ll want to make a New Year’s resolution.

Repeat with  me: In 2013,  I promise to choose fruit instead of baked sweets for treats, snacks, and dessert.

HAPPY NEW YEAR

2012 is going out of here with a bang!

My thank you goes to Fae’s Twist and Tango for nominating Cook Up a Story for Blog of the Year 2012. The honor arrived just under the wire, December 31.

Fae’s blog is the work of a storyteller, like Vinny’s! She publishes articles about travel, food and recipes, with a twist and tango  —  fun to read.  Fae has posted many good recipes, but one that’s caught my eye is borscht, a soup we love with lots of beety goodness.

To pay it back, I nominate three extraordinary blogs in turn. These great food blogs highlight what I value most: good writing, wholesome foods and family traditions.

Local Kitchen – When explaining why she promotes cooking “local,” Kaela says, “I’m too poor to be elitist and too foul-mouthed to be holier than thou, so really: taste was my only option. Come join the conversation and discover how wonderful local food can be.” You won’t be disappointed when you visit her site.

My French Heaven – “We must feed our minds and spirit with the things that we love the most,” says Stéphane Gabart.Mine are food (mostly eating it), hospitality, and design. So here is my little blog. I will try to make it more than just food and pretty pictures. I have a lot to share about what I think it means to feed/nourish oneself and others.” Check this out for the gorgeous photos and stay for the ideas!

This Lunch Rox. Healthy lunches made fun – Lots of  ideas for getting a picky kid to eat the good food in his (or her) lunch box! Jamie says, “Over time I developed a passion for healthy cooking.  Preparing wholesome food for me and my family brings me more joy than I ever dreamed possible and the lunch boxes are an extension of that. Long story short… I am mama to two beautiful boys who inspire me to create lunches that make healthy eating fun!”

Blog of the Year Award 5 star jpeg

Wishing everyone, everywhere, a healthy and happy year as we head into 2013!

From Vinny et al. 🙂

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. local kitchen
    Jan 05, 2013 @ 11:48:11

    Thanks, Vinny! It’s so nice to hear that you enjoy the blog. Happy New Year!

    Reply

  2. caseylee18
    Jan 02, 2013 @ 00:22:03

    Congratz! 2 stars! you absolutely deserve this =)

    Reply

  3. Fae's Twist & Tango
    Jan 01, 2013 @ 00:20:06

    Congratulations x 2 stars!!! Thanks for the kind mention! 😀 Fae.

    Reply

  4. Phil Martin
    Dec 31, 2012 @ 13:39:49

    I love how your blog name is Vinny Grette! It’s so funny. (:

    Reply

What's cookin' with you?

