Yes, we have no bananas…

Look what deliciousness you can make from those yucky over-ripe bananas.

Turn waste into want.

This is how I explained it to my friend Will, who turned up the other day wanting a banana… and nothing else would do.

“We DO have bananas,” I said, showing Will the goods. “But you won’t want to eat them as they are.” The black, squishy fruits resembled bananas only in shape.

Will eyed them sadly. Then he brightened up. “I have an idea,” he said. “Banana bread!”

“Deal,” I replied and gave him a high-five. “But let’s try making it with less sugar and refined flour. That way, we can enjoy the natural sweetness from the bananas without getting those nasty blood-sugar spikes that usually come with sweet treats.”

“Awww,” Will moaned. “I LOVE sugar!”

“You and just about every other kid out there,” I agreed. “But I think we can make an awesome banana bread with just a little extra sugar. You can be the judge. We’ll use two large eggs and some low-fat Greek yogurt for a healthy dose of protein. And coconut oil instead of butter or vegetable oil will give us the best-ever mid-length saturated fats, the ones that are proving better than olive oil for our heart health. All those good ingredients should keep the evil little sugar devils under control.”

“Hmmm,” said Will. “If you say so. But let’s use ordinary white flour… please???”

“Not gonna happen,” I said. “You know that Vinny only uses whole-grain flour. But we’ll use whole-wheat stone-ground pastry flour, just 3/4 cup for a light touch, and we’ll get a full cup of fiber by topping up with 1/4 cup raw coconut butter.”

“What the heck are you giving me now?” moaned Will.

“Don’t worry, Bud. You’re going to love this recipe,” I promised. “It’s so easy. Let’s get cooking!”

DSCN3634

Vinny’s healthiest, moistest banana bread ever
10 slices

  • 1/2 cup caster sugar (if you can’t find it in the store, make some for your pantry by whizzing ordinary white sugar in the food processor until it’s powdery and store it in an air-tight container)
  • 1/2 cup coconut oil (4 ounces, 120 ml)
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/2 cup (4 ounces, 120 ml) low-fat Greek yogurt
  • 1.5 teaspoons real vanilla extract
  • 2 large  or 4 small very ripe bananas, smashed
  • 3/4 cup (170 grams) whole-grain wheat flour
  • 1/4 cup raw coconut butter (this is ground, unsweetened coconut… or use ground almonds instead)
  • 1.5 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1.5 teaspoons cinnamon
  1. Preheat the oven to 350F (180C).
  2. Grease a medium-sized loaf pan and cut a piece of parchment paper to fit into the bottom.
  3. In a large mixing bowl, cream the oil and sugar together with the back of a wooden spoon.
  4. Add the eggs, banana, yogurt and vanilla, and beat with a hand mixer until smooth.
  5. In a smaller bowl, combine the flour, baking soda and cinnamon and whisk them together briskly.
  6. With a slotted spoon, fold the dry ingredients into the wet ones, until just mixed.
  7. Pour the batter into the baking tin and put it in the oven on “Bake” —- 35 minutes for a very moist loaf to 50 minutes for a very dry one. You get to know your oven. Check often toward the end. When a skewer stuck into the middle comes out clean the loaf is done. I think cakes taste better undone rather than overdone!
  8. Leave to cool in the tin for a few minutes, then slide a knife around the edges and turn the loaf out onto a wire cooling rack.

Will and I laid out two humungous slices on two pretty plates.

“Yum!” said Will. “Thumbs up on this healthy recipe, Vinny. It’s delicious!”

And that’s how we solved the problem of the too-ripe bananas!!! The cake tasted as sweet and moist as it was healthy. What a great recipe to try with your family.

Read how Vinny discusses the health benefits of bananas with kids in “Come Mister Tally Man, tally me bananas.” In a nutshell, it’s all about potassium. But there are other surprising benefits to bananas, too. Will thinks it’s pretty funny! Let me know if your kids like it, as well?

Nutrition info for each of 10 slices

  • Calories 229
  • Fat 13g
  • Protein 8g (Estimated, due to no data for Greek yogurt, which has 3 times the protein of regular yogurt)
  • Carbohydrates 25g
  • Excellent source of B vitamins (used in generating energy from carbohydrates and the making of blood cells) and fiber (for digestion)
  • Good source of iron (for carrying oxygen in the blood) and potassium (for the making of muscle)

 

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. brendonthesmilingchef
    Nov 21, 2013 @ 21:51:08

    Great idea to use healthy ingredients for this banana bread recipe. It definitely gives you longer lasting energy to use whole foods in cooking :)

    Reply

  2. Helen
    Nov 21, 2013 @ 04:57:34

    I LOVE banana bread, definitely going to give your recipe a try, thanks!

    Reply

  3. chef mimi
    Nov 20, 2013 @ 07:48:35

    When my kids were growing up I never ever used white flour. The healthy substitutions work so well. But I never baked with coconut oil! I must try using it! Thanks!

    Reply

    • Vinny Grette
      Nov 20, 2013 @ 11:33:02

      Coconut oil makes an excellent substitute for butter! I have also subbed out half the butter in a recipe for prune puree or date puree, or even apple sauce, especially in a chocolate dessert. But I *really* like the coconut oil…

      Reply

  4. Shanna Koenigsdorf Ward
    Nov 19, 2013 @ 17:30:44

    Sharon – Beautiful recipe. I love the Greek yogurt, whole flour, coconut butter and low sugar content. Healthy and scrumptious. I loved your anecdote, too (“I love sugar” – haha). Be well – Shanna

    Reply

    • Vinny Grette
      Nov 19, 2013 @ 17:35:06

      Thanks, Shanna. I was really pleased by how good this recipe tastes, in spite of (or should that be “because of”?) all the healthy substitutions.

      Reply

      • Shanna Koenigsdorf Ward
        Nov 19, 2013 @ 18:19:51

        Ha. Sharon. Yes – in spite of AND because of? I will try it this week. The Littlest Guy goes bananas for bananas. I like that you use very ripe bananas – lots of naturally occurring, residual fruit sugar and true banana flavor. You have a lucky family. Best wishes, Shanna

        Reply

  5. dalesdelectables
    Nov 19, 2013 @ 15:28:57

    Love this! Wish I had seen the post BEFORE I made my banana muffins this morn! Mind you, I had no eggs, so I added Greek yogurt and I never put more than 1/2 cup sugar and I ALWAYS use whole wheat flower…. I coulda changed my 1/3 cup of butter for the coconut oil….

    Reply

What's cookin' with you?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,372 other followers

